ArtReach Events Calendar


Warden's House Museum Tours

Presented by Washington County Historical Society at Historic Warden's House, Stillwater

July 08 - October 31

The Warden’s House Museum was built in 1853 as the residence of the Minnesota Territorial Prison warden. Over the next six decades, there were thirteen wardens that lived in the house until 1914 when the prison moved to its present site in Bayport.

After 1914 a Deputy Warden or Superintendent of the prison used the old Warden’s House. In 1941 the State of Minnesota sold the house to the Washington County Historical Society and it was opened as the second house museum in the state in...

[more+]

The Warden’s House Museum was built in 1853 as the residence of the Minnesota Territorial Prison warden. Over the next six decades, there were thirteen wardens that lived in the house until 1914 when the prison moved to its present site in Bayport.

After 1914 a Deputy Warden or Superintendent of the prison used the old Warden’s House. In 1941 the State of Minnesota sold the house to the Washington County Historical Society and it was opened as the second house museum in the state in June 1941.

The museum consists of 14 rooms decorated in the late 19th and early 20th century style. Many rooms are like that of a upper middle class household while other rooms house exhibits showcasing Washington County history such as the lumber industry, the 1965 St. Croix Valley Flood, and of course, the Old Stillwater Prison.

 

 

[less-]

Dates & times

Fri, Sep 24 @ 1:00 pm Fri, Sep 24 @ 2:00 pm Fri, Sep 24 @ 3:00 pm + 89 more dates and times

Fri, Sep 24 @ 4:00 pm Sat, Sep 25 @ 1:00 pm Sat, Sep 25 @ 2:00 pm Sat, Sep 25 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Sep 25 @ 4:00 pm Sun, Sep 26 @ 1:00 pm Sun, Sep 26 @ 2:00 pm Sun, Sep 26 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Sep 26 @ 4:00 pm Thu, Sep 30 @ 1:00 pm Thu, Sep 30 @ 2:00 pm Thu, Sep 30 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Sep 30 @ 4:00 pm Fri, Oct 01 @ 1:00 pm Fri, Oct 01 @ 2:00 pm Fri, Oct 01 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Oct 01 @ 4:00 pm Sat, Oct 02 @ 1:00 pm Sat, Oct 02 @ 2:00 pm Sat, Oct 02 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Oct 02 @ 4:00 pm Sun, Oct 03 @ 1:00 pm Sun, Oct 03 @ 2:00 pm Sun, Oct 03 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Oct 03 @ 4:00 pm Thu, Oct 07 @ 1:00 pm Thu, Oct 07 @ 2:00 pm Thu, Oct 07 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Oct 07 @ 4:00 pm Fri, Oct 08 @ 1:00 pm Fri, Oct 08 @ 2:00 pm Fri, Oct 08 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Oct 08 @ 4:00 pm Sat, Oct 09 @ 1:00 pm Sat, Oct 09 @ 2:00 pm Sat, Oct 09 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Oct 09 @ 4:00 pm Sun, Oct 10 @ 1:00 pm Sun, Oct 10 @ 2:00 pm Sun, Oct 10 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Oct 10 @ 4:00 pm Thu, Oct 14 @ 1:00 pm Thu, Oct 14 @ 2:00 pm Thu, Oct 14 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Oct 14 @ 4:00 pm Fri, Oct 15 @ 1:00 pm Fri, Oct 15 @ 2:00 pm Fri, Oct 15 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Oct 15 @ 4:00 pm Sat, Oct 16 @ 1:00 pm Sat, Oct 16 @ 2:00 pm Sat, Oct 16 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Oct 16 @ 4:00 pm Sun, Oct 17 @ 1:00 pm Sun, Oct 17 @ 2:00 pm Sun, Oct 17 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Oct 17 @ 4:00 pm Thu, Oct 21 @ 1:00 pm Thu, Oct 21 @ 2:00 pm Thu, Oct 21 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Oct 21 @ 4:00 pm Fri, Oct 22 @ 1:00 pm Fri, Oct 22 @ 2:00 pm Fri, Oct 22 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Oct 22 @ 4:00 pm Sat, Oct 23 @ 1:00 pm Sat, Oct 23 @ 2:00 pm Sat, Oct 23 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Oct 23 @ 4:00 pm Sun, Oct 24 @ 1:00 pm Sun, Oct 24 @ 2:00 pm Sun, Oct 24 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Oct 24 @ 4:00 pm Thu, Oct 28 @ 1:00 pm Thu, Oct 28 @ 2:00 pm Thu, Oct 28 @ 3:00 pm Thu, Oct 28 @ 4:00 pm Fri, Oct 29 @ 1:00 pm Fri, Oct 29 @ 2:00 pm Fri, Oct 29 @ 3:00 pm Fri, Oct 29 @ 4:00 pm Sat, Oct 30 @ 1:00 pm Sat, Oct 30 @ 2:00 pm Sat, Oct 30 @ 3:00 pm Sat, Oct 30 @ 4:00 pm Sun, Oct 31 @ 1:00 pm Sun, Oct 31 @ 2:00 pm Sun, Oct 31 @ 3:00 pm Sun, Oct 31 @ 4:00 pm - Less dates

Admission

$5 per adult. $1 for students (ages 6-17). Children 5 and under are FREE

651-439-5956

Location

Historic Warden's House Arrow icon

602 North Main Street, Stillwater, MN 55082

Full map and directions Arrow icon